India’s first-ever Test series triumph outside the subcontinent came in 1967-68 versus New Zealand after victories against Pakistan, New Zealand, and England at home. In 1971, India surprised many by defeating the West Indies & England in their very own backyard, establishing themselves as a formidable force.

The 1983 World Cup was India’s first triumph in the one-day format, a shock to the incumbent champions West Indies. After the high of the World Cup, India went on to win the 1985 Cricket World Cup in Australia.

India continued their upward trajectory by producing world-class talent in both the batting and bowling areas. After a wet final in 2002, they are declared co-champions with Sri Lanka. The inaugural ICC World Twenty20 in South Africa in 2007 will be fondly remembered by fans since India, led by MS Dhoni, defeated Pakistan inside the final with a little know-how of the game.

Two years later, in Nov 2009, India has become the world’s No.1 Test team because to their consistency in all formats. They were in charge till the end of August, 2011. The year before, India became the first side ever to win the World Cup as hosts when they overcame Sri Lanka inside the final. India’s triumph there in World Cup under MS Dhoni, the country’s second after Kapil Dev, sparked wild celebrations.

Dhoni led India to a five-run victory over England with in ICC Champions Trophy final. In 2016, India won the Asia Cup, demonstrating their flexibility and adaptability. First time T20I format was used in the tournament, and the Blues were undefeated throughout the tournament. Here we update all the news about Indian cricket.