From Jason Roy to Heinrich Klaasen: Full List of SA20 retained players

From Jason Roy to Heinrich Klaasen: Full List of SA20 retained players

Jason Roy and Heinrich Klaasen

All six teams participating in the highly anticipated second edition of the SA20 League have revealed their lists of retained players, setting the stage for an electrifying auction event that is scheduled to take place on September 7 in Johannesburg.

As cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the upcoming season, franchises recently secured the services of key players through retentions, bolstering their line-ups with talent and experience. Jason Roy, Heinrich Klaasen, and Wayne Parnell are a few prominent names to have been retained by their respective teams.

The teams were also involved in the pre-signing of players earlier, where they acquired the services of match-winners like Faf du Plessis, Rashid Khan and many more.

Also WATCH: MS Dhoni seeks navigation assistance from strangers to reach Ranchi

It is worth mentioning that each team is required to maintain a squad size of 19, ranging from a minimum of 10 South African players to a maximum of seven overseas players. Furthermore, teams must include at least one rookie player of South African origin in their squads.

Apart from this, the second season of the SA20 also saw an increase in the salary purse for each team. Teams now have a budget of R39.1 million, representing a substantial increase of R5.1 million from the inaugural edition. On that note, let’s have a look at the list of retained and pre-signed players of different squads with the purse remaining.

List of retained players for SA20 2024:

Sunrisers Easter Cape (SEC):

  • Retained players: Marco Jansen, Temba Bavuma, Tristan Stubbs, Sisanda Magala, Brydon Carse, Simon Harmer, Sarel Erwee, Jordan Hermann, Aya Gqamane, Adam Rossington, Tom Abell
  • Pre-signed players: Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman, Liam Dawson, Dawid Malan
  • Purse remaining: R1.865 million

Pretoria Capitals (PR):

  • Retained players: Rilee Rossouw, Colin Ingram, Senuran Muthusamy, Wayne Parnell, Theunis De Bruyn, Adil Rashid, William Jacks, Eathan Bosch, Shane Dadswell, Corbin Bosch
  • Pre-signed players: Anrich Nortje, Jimmy Neesham, Migael Pretorius
  • Purse remaining: R9.737 million

Joburg Super Kings (JSK):

  • Retained players: Leus du Plooy, Reeza Hendricks, Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger, Donovn Ferreira, Aaron Phangiso, Sibonelo Makhanya, Kyle Simmonds
  • Pre-signed players: Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, David Wiese, Gerald Coetzee, Zahir Khan, Sam Cook
  • Purse remaining: R6.1 million

MI Cape Town (MICT):

  • Retained players: Rassie Van Der Dussen, Delano Potgieter, Ryan Rickelton, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Olly Stone, Grant Roelofsen
  • Pre-signed players: Dewald Brevis, Kagiso Rabada, Rashid Khan, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Tom Banton
  • Purse remaining: R5.05 million

Durban Super Giants (DSG):

  • Retained players: Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Keemo Paul, Kyle Abbott, Heinrich Klaasen, Wiaan Mulder, Dilshan Madushanka, Jon-Jon Smuts, Matthew Breetzke, Junior Dala
  • Pre-signed players: Quinton De Kock, Naveen Ul Haq, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Prenelan Subrayen,
  • Purse remaining: R1.675 million

Paarl Royals (PR):

  • Retained players: Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, Jason Roy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dane Vilas, Bjorn Fortuin, Mitchell Van Buuren, Wihan Lubbe, Ferisco Adams, Codi Yusuf, Evan Jones
  • Pre-signed players: David Miller, Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy, Kwena Maphaka
  • Purse remaining: R8.865 million

Also READ: Bangladesh announces a strong 17-member squad for Asia Cup 2023; Tanzid Hasan receives maiden call-up

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

মন্তব্য করুন

আপনার ই-মেইল এ্যাড্রেস প্রকাশিত হবে না। * চিহ্নিত বিষয়গুলো আবশ্যক।