Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 2023: Gulbarga Mystics dominate Bengaluru Blasters, Hubli Tigers defeat Mysuru Warriors on Day 1

Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 2023: Gulbarga Mystics dominate Bengaluru Blasters, Hubli Tigers defeat Mysuru Warriors on Day 1
Gulbarga Mystics
Gulbarga Mystics. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Sunday, 13th August 2023: Opening batter LR Chethan and medium pacer Abhilash Shetty ensured Gulbarga Mystics got off to a winning start in their campaign to defend the title at the second edition of Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20, which began today at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. They triumphed over last year’s runners-up Kalyani Bengaluru Blasters with six wickets in hand.   

Abhilash Shetty’s (3/17) hauler and Sharan Goud’s (2/24) proved vital in Gulbarga Mystics’ win with essential contributions from top-order batsman LR Chethan who scored a quickfire 36 off 24 balls.   

Earlier in the day, Gulbarga Mystics put Bengaluru Blasters to bat. The team’s decision worked like magic with Abhilash Shetty sending D Nischal (1) and skipper Mayank Agarwal (4) back to the dugout within the third over.   

At the end of the powerplay the Blasters were reeling at 43/2. With the runs drying up, Pavan Deshpande (14) and Jeswanth Acharya (29) came together to construct a critical partnership, before Suraj Ahuja (62*) began the fireworks. Though he started with caution, he quickly made up for it, dispatching Appanna KP for four boundaries in the fifteenth over. Ahuja’s unbeaten knock of 62 came in just 46 deliveries, helping the Blasters finish with a mildly competitive total of 137/6.   

In response, the Mystics looked to make a quick meal of their target. Openers LR Chethan (36) and Adarsh Prajwal (31) displayed their intent from the first over. By the end of the powerplay, LR Chethan had cleared the ropes on three occasions to ensure the Mystics were sitting comfortably at 61/0. A crafty spell from spinner, Shubang Hegde, saw him scalp Chethan, Adarsh and Smaran R (8).   

However, the explosive start followed by contributions from KV Aneesh (29*) and the experienced Amit Verma (28) ensured the Gulbarga Mystics sailed home with six wickets and 15 balls to spare.

Hubli Tigers break no sweat to beat Mysuru Warriors by nine wickets  

In the rain-marred second encounter of the day, Krishnan Srijith (17 off 16 balls) and Mohd. Taha (61 off 30 balls) stitched together an 82-run partnership to register a nine-wicket win for Hubli Tigers in a rain-marred second match at the Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20.

Put in to bat first, Mysuru Warriors struggled to find momentum losing wickets at regular intervals. By the end of the powerplay the Warriors had lost C Karthik (0) and Karun Nair ((7) while accumulating only 30 runs. Opener, Samarth R (21) looked to anchor the innings, but failed to convert his start and was eventually dismissed by Mitrakanth Yadav in the tenth over.   

Yadav remained the pick of the Tigers’ bowling attacking, as he dismissed Rakshith Shashikumar (2) and the dangerous Manoj Bhandage (5), while Vidwath Kaverappa and Lavish Kaushal chipped in with two wickets each.    

At the halfway mark of the innings, the Warriors were struggling at 46/6. The silver lining was the tail-end that managed to register substantial contributions in the context of the game, with Suchith J (20), Bharathi Duri (16), and Venkatesh M (16), all scoring runs to help The Warriors stumble their way to a meagre total of 111/9.   

With rain reducing the target to 80 in 13 overs, the Tigers looked in a comfortable position to chase with 51/1 on board in 4.3 overs when the game resumed. Coming in fresh from the rain-induced break, Krishnan Srijith and Mohd. Taha broke no sweat to stitch an 82-run partnership after Luvnith Sisodia went for a duck, and bowled Prasidh Krishna.     

Brief Scores 
Gulbarga Mystics won by 6 wickets

Kalyani Bengaluru Blasters – 137/6 in 20 overs (Suraj Ahuja – 62 off 46 balls, Jeshwanth Acharya – 29 off 19 balls, Pavan Deshpande – 14 off 24 balls, Abhilash Shetty – 3/17, Sharan Gouda – 2/24)

Gulbarga Mystics- 138/4 in 17.3 (LR Chethan- 36 off 24 balls, Aadarsh Prajwal- 31 off 20 balls, KV Aneesh 29* off 31 balls, Shubhang Hegde- 3/25, Sarfaraz Ashraf- 1/21)

Hubli Tigers won by 9 wkts (VJD Method)

Mysuru Warriors – 111/9 in 20 overs (Ravikumar Samarth- 21 off 24 balls, Jagadeeshaa Suchith – 20 off 19 balls, Bharath Dhuri – 16 off 17 balls, M Venkatesh – 16 off 11 balls, Mitrakant  Yadav- 3/17, V KAverappa- 2/20, L Kaushal- 2/23
Hubli Tigers- 81/1 in 8.1/ 13 overs (M Taha – 61 off 30 balls, KL Shrijith- 17 off 16 balls, Prasidh Krishna 1/13)

মন্তব্য করুন

আপনার ই-মেইল এ্যাড্রেস প্রকাশিত হবে না। * চিহ্নিত বিষয়গুলো আবশ্যক।