Mitchell Marsh, Pat Cummins to lead Australia’s T20I and ODI squads in South Africa tour

width=”1260″ height=”657″ src=”” class=”attachment-full size-full wp-post-image” alt=”Mitchell Marsh, Pat Cummins” decoding=”async” loading=”lazy” style=”float:right; margin:0 0 10px 10px;” srcset=” 1260w,×365.jpg 700w,×194.jpg 372w,×400.jpg 768w,×78.jpg 150w” sizes=”(max-width: 1260px) 100vw, 1260px” />

Cricket Australia (CA), on Monday, announced their T20I and ODI squads for the much-anticipated tour of South Africa. Stepping into the shoes of Aaron Finch, who played his final T20 International last year, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh has been chosen to lead the Australian side for the South Africa series.

While this appointment is for the upcoming series alone, it signals the potential leadership candidates for the future. Marsh’s previous captaincy experience with Perth Scorchers and Western Australia will undoubtedly be an asset as he takes charge of the team in this high-profile contest.

The squad selection has brought some exciting young talents into the limelight. Western Australia’s rising star all-rounder Aaron Hardie, the reigning BBL player of the tournament Matt Short, and the breakout left-arm firebrand Spencer Johnson are all in contention to make their international debut during the three-match T20 series. Their inclusion indicates Cricket Australia’s focus on building a strong foundation for the future while maintaining a blend of experience and raw talent.

Also WATCH: Jos Buttler goes berserk against London Spirit bowlers in the Hundred 2023

Marnus Labuschagne omitted from Pat Cummins’ led ODI squad

While the T20 squad featured five incumbents from Australia’s recent T20 XI, the ODI outfit witnessed some intriguing omissions. One of the notable exclusions was Marnus Labuschagne. Despite being a prolific run-scorer, Labuschagne was left out of the ODI squad.

The five-match ODI series in South Africa holds immense significance for Australia as it serves as a crucial preparation phase leading up to the ODI World Cup. The provisional 18-man squad for the World Cup has also been named, with the initial squad set to play five ODIs in South Africa before heading to India for another three-match series.

Also READ: Australia announces their 18-man squad for the ICC ODI World Cup 2023

The tour offers players a chance to acclimatize to the conditions and fine-tune their skills before the global showpiece event. Pat Cummins will continue to lead the ODI side. One of the standout players, Glenn Maxwell, will miss the ODI series in South Africa. Maxwell has been granted family leave and will join the squad directly in India.

Australia T20I squad:

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

Australia ODI squad:

Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

মন্তব্য করুন

আপনার ই-মেইল এ্যাড্রেস প্রকাশিত হবে না। * চিহ্নিত বিষয়গুলো আবশ্যক।